Skip to content Skip to navigation

Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Awards 2016

Excellent Teacher & Honour Roll

Innovative Teacher

Rosie CHING Ju Mae

Senior Lecturer of

Christie Napa SCOLLON

Associate Professor of

Most Promising Teacher

Outstanding Adjunct

Jacob Isaac Ricks

Assistant Professor of
Political Science

Wong Yuet Nan

Adjunct for
Information Systems

Excellent Teacher Nominees

The Excellent Teacher Award recognises outstanding faculty members who are committed to promoting excellence in teaching and learning, to enhance the quality of classroom experience. The candidate would be a faculty member who demonstrates up-to-date knowledge of the field, employs exemplary teaching skills that encourage student engagement, and fosters the holistic development of students.

Innovative Teacher Nominees

The Innovative Teacher Award recognises faculty members who make significant contributions to promoting new ways of teaching that have an impact on enhancing learning. The candidate would be a faculty member who introduces, develops, and/or promotes creative approaches to teaching and learning.

Most Promising Teacher Nominees

The Most Promising Teacher Award recognises outstanding teaching potential among junior faculty members, in particular in the area of providing an enriching classroom experience for students. The candidate would display most of the qualities described in the Excellent Teacher category.

Outstanding Adjunct Nominees

The Outstanding Adjunct Award recognises adjunct faculty members, including CEC teaching consultants, who have made a significant impact on our students in terms of their commitment in delivering the SMU pedagogy. The candidate would show extensive knowledge of his/her discipline, expresses deep interest in and concern for students' learning, and is actively contributing to the transfer of expertise from industry or his/her specialised domain while maintaining a high standard of teaching.


View the photo gallery for the Provost's Annual Address and Teaching Excellence Awards Celebration held on 19 October 2016. 

Last updated on 14 Nov 2016 .