Recognising Excellence in Educational Research



The SMU-Educational Research Fellowship (SMU-ERF) was established to recognise faculty members who have demonstrated the ability or potential to attain accomplishment in educational research and to advance SMU’s Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). Up to two Fellowships with a period of two years will be awarded each year on a competitive basis.

The primary goal of the ERF is to encourage and support rigorous, systematic and evidence-based studies of teaching and learning, and to facilitate the dissemination of results of these studies in peer-reviewed journals or conference proceedings to benefit the wider academic community. The ERF seeks to advance SMU’s practice of SoTL, and develop a network of educational researchers who supports one another to improve teaching practices through scholarly inquiry.

The application process involves submitting a research proposal which will be reviewed by the Centre for Teaching Excellence (CTE), followed by an one-to-one consultation session with the applicant. The timeline above shows the application procedure. 

For more information on the SMU-ERF, please refer to the following:


The review of the applicants will be assumed by an esteemed committee:

  • Professor Venky Shankararaman (Chair)
  • Professor Chow Hwee Kwan
  • Professor Lee Pey Woan
  • Associate Professor Lieven Demeester (Facilitator)


Vice Provost (Education)
Professor of Information Systems (Education), SCIS

CHOW Hwee Kwan

Professor of Economics and Statistics (Practice), SOE
Deputy Dean, Programmes

Academic Director, Global Impact Scholarship Award

LEE Pey Woan

Vice Provost (Faculty Matters)
Professor of Law, YPHSL


Associate Provost (Teaching and Learning Innovation)
Associate Professor of Operations Management (Practice), LKCSB
Director, Centre for Teaching Excellence

Rate this page

  • Star
  • Star
  • Star
  • Star